View RSS Feed

Liverpool Picturebook

St George’s Baths

Rate this Entry
Quote Originally Posted by Bob Edwards View Post
Known as St George’s Baths, the Pier head Baths Liverpool's first publicly funded baths were located on the waterfront and cost £24,481, an a vast amount of money at the time. Additionally when problems were found with the foundations an further £19,178 was spent.

Designed by John Foster Junior, who was also the architect the Aintree racecourse main stand, they opened on 8 June 1829 and were described on a prospectus as ‘worthy of particular commendation from the casual or critical observer. The walls, rusticated, are finished upwards by a cornice surmounted by a parapet. The roof projects to form two piazzas and is supported by a colonnade of 18 columns. The gentlemen’s baths are behind the north colonnade. The most extensive is... 45 feet by 27.'

The prospectus went on to add,

'A spacious saloon leads to the private warm baths. In the south wing are the ladies baths of which the principal is 39 feet by 27. Four private and two cold baths are annexed to this branch. A reservoir... containing 800 tons of water is immediately under the building, by which means an ample supply of salubrious element will be always at hand. The structure viewed as a whole is chaste and unique, and forms a striking, tasteful addition to the architectural beauties of the town.’

Read more.............

Submit "St George’s Baths" to Digg Submit "St George’s Baths" to Submit "St George’s Baths" to Google Submit "St George’s Baths" to Facebook