Thread: Royal Liver Building: Why is it called a 'Gothic' building?

Blog Entries

Default Royal Liver Building: Why is it called a 'Gothic' building?

This week has seen the celebration of the centenary of the Royal Liver Building. Quite rightly, there has been a huge amount of media coverage. However, one thing struck me, in nearly all these articles the Liver Building is described as a 'gothic-style' building.

Now I don't consider myself to be uneducated in architecture but contrary I am by no means an expert I always thought Gothic was many big windows, long columns, flying butresses, delicate tracery and lots and lots of points and spikes.

I can't see any of these features on the Liver Building. Its clearly not a gothic building. So what is it?

Neo-Baroque? Art Deco? What do you think?

Sounds like they all copied a single article...

Reading the wiki description, the Liver Building would be hard to put in the Gothic category.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gothic_architecture

The only real corresponding feature would be "majesty" as I see it....

I'd like to hear a description from a professional architctural history expert.

Blog Entries

Good point. I think that "gothic -style" is conjured up by the sight the Liver Birds guarding the city. Visitors to the city are the best to ask, we scousers are maybe too close to see it.
    Cheers,
    Chas

Blog Entries

Nikolaus Pevsner (the) leading scholar of British architecture says thus:

"The structure is of reinforced concrete faced with granite cladding. The style is impossible to label."

He uses the terms 'Byzantine' and 'Baroque' but not 'Gothic'.

Blog Entries

How about " Goth-Barogue"

Cheers,
    Chas