Thread: I M Marsh Campus Liverpool John Moores University campus Aigburth

Blog Entries

Exclamation I M Marsh Campus Liverpool John Moores University campus Aigburth

Took a trip down memory lane today, thought it hadn't been that long TBH but realised it had been 14 years since I studied there!

Anyway, it was founded in 1900 by Irene Mable Marsh as a Physical Education Teacher Training college for Girls.

^^The old 'outdoor' swimming pool now filled in^^

There are some cracking pics of the old College and Irene Marsh here: http://www.ljmu.ac.uk/corporatecommunications/95543.htm

Become A Supporter 👇

Donate Via PayPal

Donate

Blog Entries

Hi Kev,
    Memory lane indeed. We used to go skinny dipping in the outside pool in about 1968, after a night in The Grapes - where the Aigburth Arms now is. We also used to go to discos there on a Friday night.

I'm an external examiner for JMU and will be attending exam boards at IMM in June - the first time I'll have been back on site since the 60s. I'll be there for two days so if you fancy meeting for a pint in the area that would be nice.
    Kevin

Blog Entries

Hi Kevin, cheers for the comments, I'll see what I'm up to nearer the time.

I spent 4 years there, the place hasn't changed at all. Its weird how much of a free reign we had wilst there, we could walk where ever we wanted, explored the nuildings etc and not once at the time did I take any pics.

Those were the days b4 digi cameras were popular.
    Become A Supporter 👇

Donate Via PayPal

Donate

Default Campus Development update

IM Marsh Campus

artist's impression

The Project Board have now approved the final designs for a new building at IM Marsh which is due to be submitted for planning permission next month following extensive consultation with the surrounding neighbourhood.

The new building will be situated within the IM Marsh campus and will provide teaching accommodation, office space as well as a central social aspect for all staff and students.