From “Ladies Walk” to Coal Bunker.
According to Edward Baines, in his book, History of the County Palatine and Duchy of Lancaster (1836), there were two ‘Ladies Walks’ in Liverpool: one parallel to Duke Street and another just off Old Hall Street, opposite Old Leeds Street.
This is an account of the second.
“… at the end of Old Hall-street was formally a fine walk called “The Ladies’ Walk,” with a double row of trees on each side, very much frequented by respectable inhabitants, and especially by merchants, who found it a good post of observation from which to observe the approach of their vessels to the port. The direction of the walk was towards the shore, where it terminated in a flight of steps opposite the old baths. The destruction of this beautiful walk, with the fine avenue of trees, was cause of great lamentation at the time; and the whole site is now occupied by coal yards, while the baths, and the fort to which it conducted, have all been swallowed up by the Regent’s Dock [later renamed “Princes Dock”].”
Interestingly, the Ladies Walk led straight to the Old Baths on Bath Street.
1. George Perry’s Map, 1769. Ladies Walk highlighted in green.
2. Three maps: 1796, 1807 & 1848, Ladies Walk highlighted in green.
3. The site of Ladies Walk today, highlighted in green.
4. The site of Ladies Walk today, highlighted in green.
Text and Image Credits: Daz Waite
Daz has posted many reports detailing aspects of Liverpool’s rich history. You can browse them all here: http://www.yoliverpool.com/forum/for...erpool-History
The post *Liverpool History* The Ladies Walk to the Coal Bunker appeared first on YO! Liverpool.